2023 TAAO Awards | mvba Law

2023 TAAO Awards

TAAO honors mvba team members, again

2023 conference awards educators

Two of mvba’s finest were recognized for their achievements at the Texas Association Of Assessing Officers (TAAO) & Institute of Certified Tax Administrators’ (ICTA) 84th-annual conference and awards ceremony held in Grapevine at the Gaylord Texan Resort in August.

Connor Buchanan and Connie Rose proudly display their 2023 TAAO trophies.

TAAO is a non-profit leader in property tax education and has been providing networking opportunities for Texas tax pros for over 80 years. ICTA is an internal division of TAAO responsible for establishing and maintaining the highest standards of performance and education for its members. The Awards Luncheon held on the second day of the conference is a well-attended and looked-forward-to event. 

Award-winning Texas property tax educators

2023 Marillyn Albert Achievement Award

Connie Rose, our Director of Truth in Taxation, was given the group’s highest lifetime honor, the 2023 Marillyn Albert Achievement Award. The award is named in memory of TAAO’s Past President and Executive Director Marillyn Albert Harkins. Marillyn took over the organization when it fell on hard times and turned it around, taking it further than anyone could have imagined. She encouraged everyone to “go above and beyond what we thought possible to reach our deeper potential for TAAO, our respective communities and ourselves,” according to the organization’s website. 

In giving her the Marillyn Albert Achievement Award, TAAO recognizes these same exceptional leadership qualities, professionalism, and can-do spirit in Connie Rose. They honor both her time with mvba and her career with the Texas Comptroller’s Property Tax Assistance Division. We couldn’t agree more. Connie embodies Marillyn Albert Harkins’ spirit, and ours, of Going further… Congratulations, Connie, well earned!

2023 TAAO Instructor of the Year Award

In the same ceremony, Shareholder and Attorney Connor Buchanan was recognized for his delivery, integrity and dedication to teaching other professionals in the Texas property tax industry with the 2023 TAAO Instructor of the Year Award

We are pleased to welcome Connor to the mvba winners’ circle. In winning this year’s title, Connor continues the firm’s tradition of excellence in Texas property tax continuing education. mvba team members have swept this award category since 2014. Previous winners are Scott Howard and Connie Rose. 

Winning nominees for this yearly contest are chosen based on student evaluations from courses taught throughout the year. Connor is certified by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation to teach Property Tax Courses 7: Property Tax Law, 9: Advanced Assessment and Collections, and 28: Truth in Taxation.

When he’s not teaching continuing education for fellow tax industry professionals, Connor is the Client Development Chair for mvba. He advises Central Texas and Panhandle client tax offices and appraisal districts in all areas of ad valorem tax law and manages delinquent tax collections programs for them.

Property tax continuing education is another way we’re Going further…

If your district has professional development needs

Please reach out to mvba to schedule with our award-winning educators. 512-323-3200.